A Boys Quilt – Children At Play

Boys Quilt

Boys Quilt

So a very important little man in my life turned one! To celebrate I wanted to make him a very special keepsake gift.

After showing his Mum the Children at Play range by Sarah Jane she fell in love with it as much as I did! I went ahead and used fabrics from both over the fence and after school collections.

White, Red and Blue Boys Quilt

White, Red and Blue Boys Quilt

And that’s what I ended up with.

My friend loves White, and tempering all those traditional boy colours with a healthy does of white made the quilt a bit more modern. I love the fabric so much I had a hard time cutting into it so I just went with big squares so you could really appreciate the illustrations and colours of each one.

Sweet little bikes

Sweet little bikes

Rocket Ships and Dots

Rocket Ships and Dots

Boys Playing and Stripes

Boys Playing and Stripes

and I quilted it with a ‘train-track’ pattern, I don’t know if that’s what its actually called but that’s what I call it! Seems appropriate here!

While I was taking pictures our Vintage Noddy and Big Ears (made for me when I was a child by my Grandma) wandered off their top shelf to have a little look….

Noddy and Big Ears, look pretty cute cuddled up on it too!

Noddy and Big Ears, look pretty cute cuddled up on it too!

Quilt Large Enough for a King Single Bed

waking up in this bed looks alright to me!

I backed it in England Swings – Butcher Stripe (have you seen the gorgeous video on her site! sigh) for a couple of reasons.

England Swings - Butcher Stripe Backing

England Swings - Butcher Stripe Backing

Firstly, it brings out the darker blue of the rocket ship illustrations, which I love and wanted to highlight. I also wanted something simple and masculine for the backing. I thought if he ever feels too ‘grown-up’ for the sweet illustrations he can just flip the quilt over and keep using it!

Finally, my Grandfather was a butcher and he trained my Dad as a butcher, when I was a kid on Saturday morning’s Dad would help out his mates in their butcher shops. I remember him wearing aprons with this exact print. I have fond memories of going to pick him up after the Saturday morning rush. Shuffling through the sawdust on the floors and being plonked up on the butchers paper (the only spot where the cold steel benches wouldn’t freeze my toosh) and been given a piece of polony to munch on while he finished cleaning up. So when I saw this fabric I couldn’t help but back this special quilt in something that evokes fond memories of my own childhood!

all hand bound for my little friend!

all hand bound for my little friend!

Finally I hand bound it in this sweet mid blue, dot and stripe fabric. I was having a hard time deciding between a dot and a stripe or maybe a gingham for the binding and then I found this! It tied all the blues together beautifully and I didn’t have to decide! The perfect binding fabric really!

As with any quilt lots of love and time when into this one and I’m so pleased with how it turns out! I hope it keeps him warm and safe for many years!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Boys Quilt – Children At Play”

  1. Nicole Says:

    This is such a beautiful quilt! Do you mind if I ask what size you made your squares and where you bought that lovely binding fabric? I would love to make one of these for my boy.

  2. sweetunwrappinglife Says:

    Thank you, Nicole. Sometimes its the simple things right?! They are 32cm square, which is about 12.5″. The binding fabric is a Sugar and Spice Textiles, Spots and Stripes, Disco Stripe in Navy, (that’s what the selvage says!) its from Spotlight. It comes in lots of other colours too, I’ve seen it in yellow, orange, purple and I’ve used it in an aqua colour-way too I really love it, such a versatile print! 🙂

    Good luck, I’d love to see your quilt when you’re done!

Leave a comment