boys satchel car playmat

Yep, you read that right, its not just a jumble of words I made a boys-satchel-car-playmat.

I was going to show you hand-made ornaments but I thought it made more sense to follow up yesterday’s little girl play-bag post with the gift I made for her little brother. I figured the dollhouse hand bag was a bit girly for a boy (although you could totally make it work if you wanted). So I decided a satchel suited a little boy best. Anna from noodlehead once posted about turning some old cargos in to a satchel and I’ve always loved the idea. I think its a great way to give the bag a ‘weathered’ look and I like the details you get with all the ‘pre-stitched’ areas. Plus if you cut right you can use one of the premade pockets to use on your bag!

Satchel made from Cargo Pants

Satchel made from Cargo Pants

So with that in mind I set about figuring out how to make it into a bag that would fold out flat so it could be played on.

Surprise at the back of the bag

Surprise at the back of the bag

Undo the tabs holding the bag closed

Undo the tabs holding the bag closed

fold open the satchel flap

fold open the satchel flap

and a whole viilage, perfect for zooming cars, awaits

and a whole viilage, perfect for zooming cars, awaits

There are a TON of ideas out there of little play mat villages, if you just google car playmat you’ll end up with a stack of inspiration. So none of my ideas are very original but I still love how it all came out. I made little personal touches that suit the little guy this one is for.

Where he lives there is a fair bit of new development, and I know one of his favourite pass-times is to sit and watch all the trucks at the construction sites. Now he can truck dirt around in his bag…

play construction site

the construction site

At the end of the street where he lives there is a park, in the other direction there is a big river, so those fun things had to be included in his little village.

the park and the river

the park and the river

the grocery store and bookstore

the grocery store and bookstore

When I visited him recently we went on some outings to the Superstore and to Chapters so I thought including them would be fun. (I love the little apple tape I found for the grocery store! I would totally shop at a place with apples on its roof!) You can see in this picture for the ‘dotted’ lines in the road I just used button hole stitch on my sewing machine. The rest of the details were hand-stitched so it took a while to do this project but I really had a lot of fun.

So all he needs to do now is pack it full of cars

when folded up the bag can cars for on the go fun

when folded up the bag can hold cars, for on the go fun

and be ready to play, where ever he is!

pocket from the pants makes a great place to store snacks

pocket from the pants makes a great place to store snacks

I sure hope he likes packing up a snack and taking his bag on adventures.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “boys satchel car playmat”

  1. Rosa @ FlutterFlutter Says:

    This is amazing Claire! I laughed when I saw the Superstore sign! lol

  2. Karen Says:

    amazing clara! you are such an inspiration! x

  3. Michelle Says:

    I love this. My little guys would go nuts!

Leave a Reply

