A casual shirt for me!

My New Shirt

I decided I needed a few more shirts in my wardrobe, and I couldn’t wait until I got to NY. But seeing I’m saving for NY I cant afford to go out and buy any. So I decided to use this great soft grey fabric I had in my stash, its a bit like a voile but a tiny bit heavier. I’ve been wanting to use it for a while! I made up my own pattern based on a shirt in my wardrobe that I liked the fit of then I added some details on shirts I’d seen around and been coveting.

I knew I wanted a placket, but I didn’t know it was called that or how to make one, however with a bit of googling I came across this very very helpful tutorial from Rachel Writes (who doesn’t appear to write on this blog anymore but I’m glad she left it up!) on how to do it! Yippee, gotta love the net.

Shirt with a Placard and Red Pin Tuck Details

I love pin-tucks and cant help but include it on everything. I even found a fancy stitch (the only fancy stitch) on my machine and thought I’d add it to the pin-tuck line-up. Its probably meant for something else but I like it!

sleeve with a button pull up

I gathered the sleeve at the top but it wasn’t tying into the rest of the shirt, adding the button pull up somehow brought it all together and let me add even more red stylin!

Business shirt hem

I wanted to be able to wear the shirt comfortably with my skinny jeans so I designed it to hang long and loose. Seeing the hem line would always be showing I thought I’d make it a mimic the base of my husbands business shirts. I’ve always loved the way they curve up at the sides. I actually found this really hard to sew but with a bit of unpicking I got there in the end! Ta Da. I haven’t sewn anything for myself since christmas, I think I should do it more often, its really satisfying!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “A casual shirt for me!”

  1. Sherri Says:

    I hate you. Not really… I love you, but I’m stooopidly jealous of your ridiculous talent. Seriously woman.

Leave a Reply

