Chicken, Olive and Chorizo Bake

Donna Hay's version in the magazine!

Last night I cooked this recipe from an old Donna Hay magazine…32, if you are interested. Best thing about it is, its super fast to put together, stacks of flavour, both grown ups and the kids devoured it. Which means I didn’t get a chance to photograph it, but I can photograph the one in the magazine, photograph of a photograph? Of course because I cant leave well enough along I changed the recipe slightly but, well, mine looked pretty much the same, so here is what I used…

1 1/2 Kg of chicken drumsticks (because I was being cheap, but next time I’ll try it with a whole chicken cut into pieces for variety)

1 lemon, sliced

1 cup kalamata olives

1 venison chorizo sausage sliced (gluten free for me of course you can use regular chorizo)

4 large cloves of garlic (not even peeled)

1 cup chicken stock

50g of butter cut into small cubes

paprika

Preheat the oven to 200C. Put your baking dish on the stove and quickly brown the chicken and chorizo (1-2minutes). Add the lemon, olives, garlic, stock and butter. Sprinkle the chicken pieces with paprika and salt and pepper if desired. Roast for 30minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

Serve with creamy mash. I like to use red or pink skinned potatoes with yellow flesh, smooshed (yes thats a word) with butter and milk to get the creamiest of mash.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

