New Japanese Pattern Dress

So I made a dress from this Japanese Pattern book:

Ondori Childrens Clothes Japanese Pattern Book

Ondori Childrens Clothes - Japanese Pattern Book

It was so quick and easy. It took a couple of hours and I really wasnt in any hurry. I got the fabric for $2 in the remnant bin at Spotlight and everything else came from my stash. Yep it cost me $2 for this whole dress! How stoked am I?

round yoked girls dress japanese pattern

round yoked gathered girls dress from the japapnese pattern book

Yeah, I know, because I was being cheap (and too impatient to go to the store to buy a purple one) the zip isn’t matching, but I dont think it looks too awful when its on. Ok, don’t look too close, or you’ll notice how badly finished offย  the top of the zip is. Zip’s scare me. They really shouldn’t. Its not hard. I just get all nervous and over think them, that’s how I mess them up! I need to do them more and I’ll get better.

round yoked full gathered dress - japanese pattern

the actual dress as pictured in the book

As you can see the actual pattern makes a Very full dress. So I cut it down a bit because I didn’t want it to be so poufy. I’m glad I did, it used less fabric and still has great shape.

shirred gathered pocket round

shirred round pocket close-up

I also added a gathered pocket. I used the left over fabric from cutting out the neck-piece. Shirred the top with three lines of elastic thread. I then trimmed it with some vintage crochet edging that Mum handed down to me from her stash. I made two pockets but I’ve only added one at this point. What do you think? Add another?

I took these pictures of the munchkin wearing it before I put the pocket on. I was just trying it on her and she wouldn’t take it off. Apparently it makes a great dress for flying airplanes:

great for flying airplanes

great for flying airplanes

for going on garden adventures:

adventuring through the garden

adventuring through the garden

and for checking the mail:

checking for the post

checking for the post

I realised to get any sewing done these days I needed a quiet place to sew while the girls were sleeping. So I moved our dining table into our bedroom and set up shop. Fortunately our table is a gate-leg and folds down perfectly to fit in the corner. I’m wondering why I never did this before:

sewing space in our bedroom

carving out a sewing space in our bedroom

Oh yeah because it means we don’t have a dining room table! Dinner was in the lounge that night. I think it might be there a few other nights while I get some projects done I’ve been wanting to tackle for ages.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “New Japanese Pattern Dress”

  1. Jess Says:

    Aww! Can you make an adult version of it? In red? ๐Ÿ™‚ I like that her shoes match. So much style.

  2. sweetunwrappinglife Says:

    she chose them! I was so proud.

  3. rachel Says:

    hi-
    very sweet pattern! i was wondering, how did you find sewing up the pattern without any instructions (unless you read japanese)? i’m thinking of buying an ondori book, but i dont know if i’ll be totally lost.
    thanks!,
    rachel

    • sweetunwrappinglife Says:

      Hi Rachel, to be completely vauge I think it really depends on you. Each step you need to undertake is illustrated but sometimes one or two can be a little confusing. If you know a little about sewing and think you can generally figure out how clothing is constructed then I’d say go for it. I think the key is just have a go at what you think you should do and dont be afraid, what’s the worst that can happen? Good luck!

  4. anna Says:

    what a sweet little dress. i love the pocket so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

