Japanese Bubble Skirt

A little friend of ours is turning 5! Currently this sweet little number is winging its way to her house.

Japanese Pattern Skirt

Japanese Bubble Skirt

Its a really simple cute as a button pattern from this Japanese kids clothing book.

Japanese Pattern Book

Japanese Pattern Book

I actually had a few issues with the pattern itself. Well I think that was the problem. If my guessing at what the Japanese means is right (and its probably not) some of the measurements are way out. In the end I took the general idea of the skirt and made most of it up. I really hope it fits!! I think it will be the perfect little skirt to jump around in with leggings and boots in the change of season that she’s about to experience.

Bows make the skirt bubble

Cute Little Bows

The skirt sports cute little bow ties at the bottom which gives it its bouncy look.

French Seams

French Seams

And the pattern calls for french seams which I think really finish off this simple skirt beautifully.

Japanese Bubble Skirt

Japanese Bubble Skirt

and this is me making my oldest try it on so I felt like I was at least close to the right size seeing I fiddled with it so much. I actually think it should sit a little shorter so hopefully it’ll fit perfect!

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Japanese Bubble Skirt”

  1. kansasqueen Says:

    Very cute little skirt. Nice work.

  2. Jess Says:

    I want to make the adult-sized version of this! Except slightly longer instead of shorter. Can you please move to Paris and then teach me how to sew? My inability is driving me nuts! Thanks :)

    • sweetunwrappinglife Says:

      sure Jess, I’ll let you sort out some sort of awesome accommodation for me and the family as payment ok? PS you could TOTALLY make this. Its a very simple skirt, two rectangles sewn together. :)

  3. fashion week nyc Says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

